Top of Page
Skip main navigation

DWC faculty awarded NSU President’s Faculty Research and Development Grants

Studies focusing on social media, teaching writing

On May 15, four CAHSS Department of Writing and Communication faculty members were awarded grants during Nova Southeastern University’s 18th Annual President’s Faculty Research and Development Grant Awards Ceremony and Reception.

Faculty awarded for the PFRDG 2017 Awards included Whitney Lehmann, Ph.D., for her study “Social Media and the College Choice Process” and Molly Scanlon, Ph.D., along with co-investigators Claire Lutkewitte, Ph.D., and Juliette Kitchens, Ph.D., for their study “Faculty Identity Construction: The Transition from Ph.D. to the Professoriate.”

Whitney Lehmann Molly Scanlon Claire Lutkewitte Juliette Kitchens

Lehmann’s study examines the perceived influence of social media on the college choice process. For this study, she is collaborating with the NSU University School to survey high school juniors and seniors, as well as their parents.

“I am honored to have the chance to work with the University School on this study,” said Lehmann, assistant professor of communication. “I am looking forward to learning about the social media habits of Generation Z as these students take part in the college choice process.”

In their study, Kitchens, Lutkewitte and Scanlon seek to encourage writing professionals to no longer rely on disciplinary lore, but to create a much more vivid picture of what employment in writing studies looks like from the perspective of new, full-time faculty.

“There is a lot of research into how graduate students are prepared for academic teaching, but less has been conducted that asks what happens after their transition into their first position as a professor, said Scanlon, associate professor of writing. “We are curious to see how teachers of writing adjust to their new roles as faculty members, researchers and institutional citizens on their campuses.”

In support of the university’s mission and to recognize and support NSU faculty in their research endeavors, then-President Ray Ferrero, Jr. initiated the President's Faculty Scholarship Award Program in 1999. It was later renamed as the President’s Faculty Research and Development Grant (PFRDG) program.

Today, PFRDG continues to directly support Vision 2020’s research-focused core values and strategic priorities by providing seed money for new research areas for which external funding will be sought, or to move current research initiatives to new levels of competitiveness for external funding.

For more information about the 2017 winners for the PFRDG, click here.

Return to top of page